Book Reviews, Kimberly Belle

REVIEW: Dear Wife – Kimberly Belle

Publisher: Park Row

From the Publisher:
Beth Murphy is on the run…

For nearly a year, Beth has been planning for this day. A day some people might call any other Wednesday, but Beth prefers to see it as her new beginning—one with a new look, new name and new city. Beth has given her plan significant thought, because one small slip and her violent husband will find her.

Sabine Hardison is missing…

A couple hundred miles away, Jeffrey returns home from a work trip to find his wife, Sabine, is missing. Wherever she is, she’s taken almost nothing with her. Her abandoned car is the only evidence the police have, and all signs point to foul play.

As the police search for leads, the case becomes more and more convoluted. Sabine’s carefully laid plans for her future indicate trouble at home, and a husband who would be better off with her gone. The detective on the case will stop at nothing to find out what happened and bring this missing woman home. Where is Sabine? And who is Beth? The only thing that’s certain is that someone is lying and the truth won’t stay buried for long.

Between the Covers:
Honestly, it’s not often that I say this, but I loved this book from start to finish (usually I have at least some issue – character, plot, pacing – with a novel, that I wish had been executed differently, but not this one)! I did NOT want to put it down and only reluctantly did so when absolutely necessary (i.e., couldn’t stay awake one second longer)!

You’re smart, so I have to be smarter. Cunning, so I have to be more cunning.

… So no, I didn’t want to do this, but I did plan for it. Oh, how I planned for this day.

Kindle Version, Loc. 59 & 70

Though I had my suspicions about Beth’s identity early on, Belle did a superb job of dropping bread crumbs along the way. This character, in particular, I found to be quite cleverly written. She was believable and relatable, throughout. But just when I figured out this aspect of the story, there were still other questions to be answered, other facets to explore and I NEEDED to know everything!

Far and away, my favourite scene – that of the confrontation at the motel – revealed, in the most satisfying way possible, that she was indeed “smarter” and “more cunning”. I appreciated Belle’s infusion of these qualities into the character, along with those of strength and grit. Looking back at instances where I thought, “But why would she…?” and then having the pieces fall into place in delicious “ah-ha!” moments, provided for such a great reading experience!

Belle’s way of tying up some loose ends but leaving other aspects of a character’s future yet to be determined is so realistic and natural that even this uncertainty adds to the likeability of this novel.

Not every question has an answer… Not every problem has a solution. But if you’re open for it, there is grace in uncertainty.

… Uncertainty leaves us open to doubt, yes, but it also opens us up to splendor and joy and wondrous surprise. To the beauty of hope. Nothing is certain, nothing is known, but it is in those moments of our greatest uncertainty that miracles happen.

Kindle Version, Loc. 3454, 3458

I highly recommend checking this one out for yourself! You won’t be disappointed! And, while you’re at it, check out other works by Belle, such as THE MARRIAGE LIE and THREE DAYS MISSING. They were both excellent reads, as well!

Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and Park Row Books in exchange for a fair and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are 100% my own.

Leave a comment